Google Plus Codes for Maps announced as digital location-based addressing system

Google Plus Codes

Google today announced the introduction of Plus Codes for Maps which is a simple location-based digital address. The internet giant also brings in support for six additional Indian languages. The Plus Code concept essentially divides the Earth territory into tiny tiles and assigns a unique value to each of them. The is built up of 6-characters and is appended with the City format that can be generated, searched and shared by anyone.  This is open source and any application that uses location services API can easily integrate it. In order to use Plus Codes, you could easily enter your location into the Search box of Google Maps on both the Desktop and the Mobile applications which will return your location.

According to Google, the Plus Codes can be used for several reasons including communicating, guiding emergency services in certain scenarios and even providing an identifiable location for complex address locations that are not easily accessible. Google introduced the new “Add an Address” feature that will enable users to contribute to the Maps by submitting new addresses which will be searchable after verification.

Krish Vitaldevara, the Product Lead, Google Maps commented as follows.

India continues to inspire us and pushes us to reimagine what Maps can do for people. And we are just getting started as we continue to build features and expand our partnerships to make the Google Maps experience more comprehensive, accurate, and reliable for our users.

Google also aims to make the search easier by bringing in Smart Address Search which is an innovative approach to providing best estimates of locations of an Address on the map. In a few cases where Google Maps doesn’t understand the address precisely, the Smart Address search will try to use all the different known information’s in the address to search and provide options for landmarks that will make it easier for the user to locate the address.

Google has also announced the support for languages including Bengali, Gujarati, Kannada, Telugu, Tamil, and Malayalam.


Leave a reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Exit mobile version